Allora…

Time has absolutely flown by since leaving Europe. As of tomorrow, it will have been 4 weeks since I flew back home to Arkansas from Madrid and the greatest trip of my life (so far) came to an end. It barely feels like the trip happened at all. I feel like my time there was all a dream and now I’m waking up.

Image
Friends in Rome on our last night

I could ramble on and on about how much I miss the streets of Rome, the people, the language, the food, the art, the constant promise of something new waiting right around the corner. But instead, I’ll move on to thinking about my next trip overseas and trying to survive my senior year of college. The only word I can think of to describe my mood for the rest of this summer is “allora”, a word Italians use (a lot) with several meanings including “then”, “well then”, “therefore”. It may not entirely make sense but somehow it describes perfectly how I feel. Well then…

I’m moving into a new house with new roommates and couldn’t be more excited to start my senior year. It is strange to think this is the last year I have at the University of Arkansas. When you’re a freshman, you never see this year coming. But it is here and, strangely, I feel ready yet not ready. Not ready to leave Fayetteville. But ready to get some experience and figure out what exactly I’m going to do after college. Not ready to say goodbye to my friends and my sorority. But ready to see whose wedding I’ll be going to first. I’m never going to be totally ready to not be in college but at least I have the next year to deal with that – or just push it aside and pretend it’s not happening.

To get ready for my new house, I had a crafting day with some friends and made this cute arrangement of cork boards for my wall. I’m a little crazy about the color blue, if you couldn’t tell.

Image

I realized it made more sense to craft and be somewhat productive with the rest of my summer than to sit and watch TV all day. I also found a big painting on canvas for somewhere in my new place – and for a great price! I’m getting really excited to decorate a new room and start a new year.

Image
Me with my sister, Lyndsey and my brother, Patrick on Grayton Beach.
charlesbeach
My boyfriend, Charles, and me on the beach

     I went to Grayton Beach in Florida for a week with my family right after getting back from Europe and that helped with the Rome-sickness a lot. It was great to see my parents, siblings, nieces and nephews for the first time in months and get to spend some quality time on a beautiful beach. I also just got back from visiting Fayetteville for a week and it got me so excited about moving back up to my home away from home. I got to have my favorite Mexican meal (FINALLY!) after waiting all summer and I swear it never tasted better. Mexican food is one major thing Europe needs to look into. Now I’m back in Little Rock for another week then back to Fayetteville for my senior year!

Until then, ciao!

3 thoughts on “Allora…

Leave a Reply

