Week One in the Big Apple

My first week in NYC is officially over and, trust me, it did not disappoint. I packed about as much as you possibly could into one week. It has all been a blur but I really couldn’t be any happier with my situation here. My apartment is in a great, quiet neighborhood with a fantastic view of the city from the roof. I got so lucky to have really cool roommates, fellow interns and bosses. Sumpto’s office is awesome and the work I do is really interesting and fun. Plus there are free snacks, coffee and a super comfy couch available at all times – who could ask for more?!

To top it off, I’ve only been lost twice. That’s groundbreaking.

The view of the city from the roof of my apartment building
The view of the city from the roof of my apartment building

I’m really starting to feel at home and like I know what I’m doing for the most part. I spent the first few days just getting used to the apartment and the area. I live in the Financial District in downtown Manhattan, a fast-paced financial center during the day and a relaxed residential area at night. We can see the Hudson and the One World Trade Center from our apartment. There is also this cool area by the water a short walk from our place called South Street Seaport with great food, drinks and a sense of community. If you can’t tell, I love where I live!

One day, I walked around close to my apartment after getting off work and realized the 9/11 Memorial is incredibly close to where I live. The twin towers of the WTC stood feet from where I get on the subway every morning to go to work. It was a solemn visit to see where the towers used to stand. The memorial was beautiful. I haven’t had a chance to visit the new museum that just opened but hopefully I can do that soon.

9/11 Memorial
9/11 Memorial

Saturdays and Sundays this summer there is a huge food market in Brooklyn called Smorgasburg. There are 100 vendors every weekend set up from 11 a.m. until 6 p.m. My roommates and I wanted to try some of the delicious food so we went Sunday to check it out. This was my first time in Brooklyn ever and, needless to say, it was great! We ended up being really far from the food market and we were starting to get hangry. So we postponed Smorgasburg for another weekend and decided to eat at a cool Brooklyn restaurant called Shelter Pizza. I got a brunch pizza with fried eggs, truffle oil, mozzarella and parmesan. Best food decision so far in NYC! It was so great and something I’d never had before. I definitely want to go back and try more of their pizza before this summer is over.

Brunch pizza at Shelter Pizza in Brooklyn
Brunch pizza at Shelter Pizza in Brooklyn

I’ve also had a chance to see the Metropolitan Museum of Art and Washington Square Park, both of which were beautiful. I’m already loving New York and there is still so much time here and so much to do. I hope time slows down a bit because I can already tell I’m in love with this city. I can’t wait for my friends, family and Charles to come visit because right now, those are the only things missing from this wonderful city. Keep checking back to find out more about my time in NYC! Let me know if there is anything I HAVE to do while I’m here.

Leave a Reply

