Swiping Left

“All of this creates the fear of missing out, or FOMO, that promotes a state of loneliness during that in-between time in which we should be content just being.”
I love the truth of this thought – the idea that social media and the constant connection to others we have through technology has led us to constantly feel like we are missing out on something, someone, some place. I want to make it a goal to look within, at my own life and how grateful I should be for my own, personal journey instead of looking at the lives of others and comparing.

Q L C

tinder

A few weeks ago, I was on Tinder, the popular dating app, and low and behold after a few swipes, I was faced with my ex-fiancé. After my initial shock, I did what anyone would do in this situation; I looked at her pictures, read her description, and then had a decision to make. What I was faced with was a second chance, as I was now armed with far more information than a brief, snapshot of potential love. I knew this person on a deeper level, and I could see far beyond the shallow surface before me. The question that I was faced with was, “Would I ever want to reconnect with her again?”

When I came upon my big Tinder decision, I realized that I no longer felt a deep connection with her, and in fact, was not attracted to her as I once might have been if…

View original post 736 more words

Leave a Reply

